Buried Treasures found in Netflix Streaming Vol. 1

Ok, for those of you who opened a Netflix account for streaming movies straight to your computer or television (via my God Machine the Xbox 360), may have noticed that the movie selection is rather sub par.

The description says, "Jesus Christ teams up with a Mexican Wrestler to fight Vampires." Actually this sounds awesome!

The description says, "Jesus Christ teams up with a Mexican Wrestler to fight Vampires." Actually this sounds awesome!

 

Although Netflix offers many quality movies to stream, you may find yourself out of selections rather quickly. When I found myself in this dilemma I almost cancelled my account. That is until I did some digging into their over 12,000 selection archive.

  The following is a list of some of the best Netflix streams I’ve found.

Red Dwarf Seasons 1-8

Red Dwarf is a British Science Fiction comedy about a group of  misfits lost in space. I used to watch this show on PBS when I was in High School but never got to watch the entire series. Years later I would rent the VHS versions at the Video Port in Portland, ME before finally the series came to DVD. Now the entire series is available on Netflix to stream.

 

The Whitest Kids U’ Know Seasons 1-2 complete, and currently Season 3

You may notice a trend in this blog. I like my comedy. But what I really love is comedy that really pushes the envelope without playing up to shock value. Tom Green, the guys from Jackass, all those stupid movie parodies out nowadays use way too much dumb, simplistic, obvious humor. Actually when I think about it the majority of what passes for comedy today appeals to our basest ideas, or just plain ignorance. The Whitest Kids U’ Know don’t pull any punches, but most of their sketch comedy will also make you think about things you hadn’t really thought about.

 Also, they seem to be crazy conspiracy theorists as well. Which is always a plus.

What the hell here’s another.

 

The Office UK Complete Series including Christmas Special

Some of you might not know that the hit television comedy The Office originated in the U.K. Actor/Comedian Ricky Gervais created the show and also starred as David Brent the office manager. I found the original series to be hilarious and to this day I cannot watch a single episode of the American version because I personally feel it’s not up to par with what Ricky Gervais was able to do with the premise of the show.

Another reason I enjoyed the U.K. version was the fact that the show was allowed to be much more raunchy and controversial.

 

Doctor Who the New Series 1-3

This years Halloween Costume. How will I create the Tardis and it's "larger on the inside" technology? You'll have to attend our annual Halloween party to find out!

This years Halloween Costume. How will I create the Tardis and it's "larger on the inside" technology? You'll have to attend our annual Halloween party to find out!

You might remember the old Doctor Who television series growing up. You might also remember how awful the effects were, how cheesy the costumes looked, and perhaps you found it boring. Well I’m in that same boat. I wanted to watch the old shows, but just couldn’t force myself to enjoy them. Then I decided to give the new series a try, and it instantly became my new favorite show.

Original Doctor Who enemies The Cybermen. They're very...uh...intimidating.

Original Doctor Who enemies The Cybermen. They're very...uh...intimidating.

As you can see the cheese factor was very high. Now the new series of Doctor Who still holds on to a bit of the cheese, for nostalgic sake, but it works well when combined with an actual budget.

I surrender unconditionally!!!

I surrender unconditionally!!!

I can try to explain why I find the new Doctor Who to be so great, but the truth is you actually have to watch it. And I don’t mean watch a random episode. You have to start with the new series first season which was in 2005. Watching a random episode, which my friend Ben recently did, doesn’t draw you in enough to understand the whole picture, also watching a random episode might make you think the show is retarded. Really that’s the only word I can use.

Oh yeah, what do you think inspired my first set of blogs where my Team of Scientists went on all those adventures?

 

Bonus Content: The Tick Live Action Series

The reason this show was only placed in Bonus Content is because it can no longer be streamed on Netflix, you have to send out for the DVD. BUT it was available to stream at one time and I was lucky enough to view each episode. The very next day it was taken down. I’m damn glad I got to see it while it was available.

I know what you're thinking, but trust me give it a chance.

I know what you're thinking, but trust me give it a chance.

Sadly this show was cancelled by the Fox network after one season. Fox seems hell bent on destroying itself from the inside out. Well at least they brought back Family Guy.

John Gagnon aka Johnny Red

Posted on April 14, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good post , I was fascinated by the points . Does someone know where my business would be able to get ahold of a fillable IRS 1099-OID document to fill out ?

  2. Dude – this rocks. I have been a fan of British TV since the 70’s. I had an original Dr. Who baseball shirt (kinda likea river runner) until it rotted off my moldy bod. And Red Dwarf.. when Who wasn’t on. Reminded me of 2010 with better humor.

Leave a Reply

